Some people believe that it would be beneficial if employees worked three or four days per week rather than five or six days Why is this Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences

Less working days for employees has become a hot topic recently as it can be advantageous for both employees and employers. In this essay, I discuss the benefits of this new trend for companies and their staff.

Firstly, a four-day work week instead of five or six days, guarantees employees' better work -life balance and reduces work-related stress and tension. If employees have more days off during the week, they can spend more quality time with their family and friends, follow their passions, schedule appointments, travel, and have a well-rounded life. As a result, they will be happier and more confident in the workplace. In contrast, overworking not only increases the level of stress in the workplace and makes staff incompetent, but also leads to faster burnout, impaired memory, depression and insomnia. Reports demonstrate that, in countries with the culture of long working hours, such as Japan, there is a high rate of depression and even commiting suicide among workers.

Secondly, less working days decreases the costs of the company while increasing workers efficiency. From a business point of view, reducing working hours can eliminate around 20% of their variable expenses such as electricity, energy, janitorial services, cleaning services, and more. For instance, Swedish companies which could limit working days to four days a week, benefited from a 30% cost decrease. Moreover, according to recent surveys there is no direct correlation between long working hours and increased output. Having longer working hours for employees can lead to poor decision-making skills, interpersonal communication, and faulty management style.

To conclude, there are various reasons why working three or four days per week will be beneficial for personnel and employers. For instance this strategy gives workers the necessary amount of time for relaxing activities, motivating them to be more efficient and productive at work while decreasing company costs.