Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of

these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether or not students should be given assignments after school. Whereas there are persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that the setting of homework is a critical aspect of education.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why homework is considered an unnecessary burden on students. Firstly, after a long schooling day, children are often put under considerable pressure and thus, need some time off work to refresh their minds as well as recharge the energy for upcoming lessons. For instance, they can participate in such sports activities as football, volleyball which are a good way to promote healthy lifestyles and sociability. Secondly, when having a great volume of schoolwork to accomplish, it is highly likely that less time will be spent by students on family gatherings, which weakens the bonds between members and leads to constant misunderstanding in the family.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that assignments have a crucial role to play in the schooling of children. To embark on, a major benefit of homework is that it encourages self-study and lateral thinking skills as they are required to accomplish the tasks by themselves. Accordingly, students have an opportunity to put knowledge into practice. For example, if children practice mathematics or physics exercises at home, they can consolidate the understanding of the concepts taught at school. Furthermore, there are also assignments involving students working together such as conducting research projects and therefore, through these activities, they not only develop profound understanding of the lessons but also acquire valuable skills of group working.

By way of conclusion, although homework has certain drawbacks itself, my own viewpoint is that its role in children’s development seems to be more beneficial.