Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While there are opinions that homework should be eliminated, some people claim that this is an indispensable aspect of education. Although homework may benefit students to some extent, I would argue that schools should no longer give assignments to pupils.

Homework helps students revise the knowledge taught at schools by doing similar exercises. In addition, teachers may add difficult tasks to the assignments so that students could develop their logical thinking as they need to solve the given issues in innovative ways. For example, kids may encounter Maths problems which they have not been taught at schools when they do their assignments; therefore, they have to brainstorm to invent solutions to finish their homework. As students do their exercises at home, which means they could not consult their tutors or friends, they may develop their abilitiy to work independently.

Despite the arguments above, homework has its drawbacks. The amount of work assigned to kids in most schools is so great that children are left with little time to relax and develop necessary skills. Students may spend almost all of their time after school doing homework instead of communicating with their families and neighbors or discovering the world around them. As a result, they lack basic skills, some may even suffer from stress due to the demanding amount of homework. Therefore, homework, which may have negative impacts on pupils, should be regarded as a hindrance in the development of children rather than an efficient method to teach students.

In conclusion, despite the fact that assignments may be adventageous to students, I believe that schools should free children from homework as its effects on kids might be severe.