Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is no gainsaying the fact that teenagers are the building blocks of a country and their morals and ethics are what keep the society intact. Therefore, a fair amount of cohort opine that youngsters in their leisure time should do some community service for free, as this will be helpful to both them and the community. Even i accord with this belief because i feel that in doing so they will learn about teamwork and it will benefit their job prospects for the future. Although with such impeccable benefits there is a minor drawback to it as it is using up the free time of the teenagers which could be put to use in developing useful skills.

To initiate, when teenagers serve their community with good-will and not consider the monetary factor it helps them to work better. To explain this, a bunch of youngsters coordinate with the other people and get the job done. In other words, this job cannot be done alone and requires teamwork. For example, according to a survey conducted by the American Schools Board, the teenagres who did community service had a better rapport with their superiors than their counterparts. Therefore, it is crucial that teenagers cater their free time towards community even though they are not getting paid for it. However, it is not completely good to be true.

While teenagers are spending their leisure time in fulfilling the needs of the community, this time could be better spent elsewhere. To be precise, college youth are packed with their curriculum and formal exams, the free time they get should be rather spent on developing fine skills relating to their career. In the 2018 for instance, Harvard University said that their students applied for diploma courses in their respective fields in the holidays which led to a 10% overall increase in their scores. Hence, youngsters should focus on themselves and development of their skills in their free time.

All in all to conclude, even though there could be a slight development in one's job and lives by sparing leisure time towards improving their skills, I agree that serving the community is far better as it is done out of the heart and teaches good teamwork which is crucial in almost every aspect of life.