Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is supposed by a group of people that there should be fixed sentence considering different types of offence while others hold the belief that the situations and the hidden cause should always be taken into account before final conviction. There have been so many debates between supporters of these two opinions, from my personal perspective, I would take side with the former despite some significant merits of the latter.

On the one hand, the benefits of having a set sentence to the government and individuals is somewhat undeniable. First and foremost, within fixed punishment like the death penalty or life imprisonment, potential criminals would think twice before making the unlawful decision, hence it is not only deter people from committing heinous crime but also help to lower crime rate. Secondly, the application of this method means that all citizens would be equally treated without any discrimination considering their wealth or social status. For example, the judgement for a billionaire and a farmer would be the same given that they both engage in identical criminal actions.

On the other hand, a majority of people advocates a more humane approach, which take criminals’ motivation and condition into consideration. Should people break the laws, their unlawful acts will be under examination of the jury for the most convincing sentence. That is to say, those with mental-related diseases, those who acts as bread-winner in their family or those commit a crime as the last resort to make ends meet would receive milder judgements in view of their pitiful circumstances.

In a nutshell, notwithstanding the advantages of having flexible sentences, I still adhere to the idea that having a set punishment for every one would be the most beneficial for human being.