It is often said that the punishments for someone who commit a crime should be standardized despite some people believe that establishing an individual disposal for each crime is better. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and express my opinions.

To begin with, people reckon that the advantages of standardized punishments considerably outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason of this belief is that it is cheaper to manage and more efficient. Parking tickets may be a good illustration. If every one of these cases have to attend to court as well as be ruled by the judge, the cost of this measurement will be extremely high and the time of judgement is wasted. Therefore, standardized handling may save the expense effectively and be fairer since the judgement of each one is treated with the same regardless the race and gender.

On the other hand, it is also possible to measure the crime with the separate situation and motivation. Sometimes, people is forced to commit a crime about murder due to reasons like self-defense. Obviously, this should be an independent case for the crime. Furthermore, treating of crime should be divided to different species clearly, such as a poor guy who steals the food on supermarket as he need to feed his family should not be punished compared with someone who steals a car because he wants to show wealthy.

In conclusion, both policies exist the merits on different circumstances. However, I tend to think that it is more important to keep the safety than saving money, so making case-by-case settlement for the penalty would be the better measurement.