Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that traditional identity is essential in all aspects of life. Although, complying with conventional values could be appreciated by traditionalists, youngsters possess the liberation to behave according to their beliefs and assumptions.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why the idea of following the traditions of society should be applied for young generations. Firstly, apart from legislation, traditional norms of society also play a principal role in shaping the nation's identity. Venerating ancestors, for instance, ought to be handed down to the next generations in the family since this is one of the most virtuous and delicate traditions of Vietnamese people in foreigners’ eyes. Secondly, by preserving and confronting conventional values, youngsters would be able to promote Vietnamese cultural and traditional identity globally, attracting more tourists to visit and explore these values so as to enrich not only youngsters themselves but also the country.

On the other hand, young generations could not be oppressed by obsolete traditional ideas which might curb the development of the young mind. Early marriage can be taken as an example, with the continuously increasing price of commodities leading to soaring costs of living in the 20s could be a burden for either the economy or career of youngsters. In addition, young generations are knowledgeable enough to be conscious of conserving traditional values now that they are fully educated by both traditional and contemporary knowledge in institutions.

In conclusion, conventional beliefs and assumptions have been existing from generation to generation. However, traditionalists could not impose all of conservative perceptions on youngsters, modification and adaptability should be considered as the ultimate approach to encourage young generations to preserve our traditional identity.