Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that expanding the number of leisure amenities is the most

appropriate way of boosting the health of the general public, while others feel that

this is not a viable solution and believe other steps are needed. This essay argues

that although more sports complexes would be more convenient, education is a

more suitable option.

On the one hand, a greater availability of recreation facilities would make exercise

more accessible to citizens. People would have to travel shorter distances from work

or home and this would encourage more people to participate. Moreover, the

demand for each facility would decrease so people would have to wait less time to

use them. For example, in Dublin there are very few tennis courts and people have

to book weeks in advance of playing. However, for most people it is not the lack of

sports facilities but the lack of knowledge that is the problem.

On the other hand, a public awareness campaign about the dangers a sedentary

lifestyle can have on one’s fitness, would not only affect people’s wellbeing but also

their understanding of the issue. This is because most men and women are unaware

of the harm they are doing to themselves by not exercising regularly and warning

them about the risk factors would have a motivating effect. For instance, the ‘Go

walking’ campaign in Northern Ireland in 2006 led to obesity related illnesses, like

heart disease and stoke falling by almost a half. This essay believes these initiatives

would be more prudent than increasing the availability of sports facilities.

In conclusion, although an increased availability of sports centres can influence the

wellness of the public by making exercise more convenient, it is only through

education that the real benefits can be realised.