Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the era of globalization, the connection between various cultures and groups of ages through music has become a hotly-debatable issue in many parts of the world. It is argued that the distances between different cultures and ages remain constant and nothing can break this barrier strictly. Nevertheless, I maintain that several kinds of music can hold people together significantly for many reasons which are put forward in the following essay.

On the one hand, firstly, the elderly generations are too familiar with their country’s folk songs to update with the trend of music these days. Indeed, they consider meaningful lyrics as only ones which are related to peace-loving, nostalgic, or harsh lives in wars. Therefore, trendy and modern lyrics with powerful melodies can disturb their peace. Secondly, it is difficult to make each characteristic love any kind of music which is opposite one’s taste. For example, Americans are sensual, energetic, and intelligent; therefore, they usually express a desire to listen to songs that are related to the true and meaningful life, rather than using imagination to indulge their dreams. Conversely, French are sweet-natured and sensual people, so they tend to listen to romantic songs with harmonious melodies.

On the other hand, listening to other cultures’ music not only can help people to broaden their knowledge about their cultures and traditions but also can arouse the interest in finding more information about it. This can lead to empathy and a close relationship between countries. In addition, the youngster can know more about some obstacles and harsh life because war and lack of food that their parents and grandparents withstood by folk music. After that, they can improve the level of responsibility for taking care of their parents and make their country become more developed.

To sum up, while many people believe that the familiar music and the individual feature make there is no need of listening to music, I strongly incline that music can decrease the gap between cultures and ages.