Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The viewpoint that university students should be allowed to study a subject of their choosing is something that I agree with. The freedom to choose and study from a vast variety of options encourages pupils to attend university and enhance learning in their field of interest. This opportunity is going to create highly educated professionals in different fields and provide them with a pathway to pursue their career in the major of their choosing.

The idea that students should only be allowed to study subjects that are beneficial for the future leads to the possibility that a large number of students who do not take interest in the given options may never pursue a degree at the university or may dropout during their course due to failures. Forcing students to stick to certain choices during university years creates pupils that no longer study out of interest and are just continuing education to keep up with the rest of their peers. This also disheartens them and leads them to lose self-confidence as they tend to face comparatively more failures than their classmates. Whereas they would have thrived if they were given the opportunity to choose from the subjects of their interest.

For instance, if a student who is naturally more skilled at arts is coerced into choosing medicine, the outcome would be an average skilled doctor that too, if that student manages to complete his degree. On the contrary, if the student was allowed to pursue with their passion in Arts and Designing it would have produced a naturally skilled individual who could contribute with their talent to the fashion industry and enhance this industry for the future.