Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

University is one of the most important educational institution which provides more practical knowledge for achieving one's goal of life. To reach the goal, selecting right topics is vital decision for a student. Without proper choice of subject, a student can not emerge his his or her fully potential.

During academic subject selection, students should keep some considerations in their mind. Field of interest is the most important thing which has to be consider first. Because without personal attraction toward a particular subject, a student can not thoroughly enjoy the study.

On the other hand, if students are forced to study some selected topics without caring their preferences, then the students may feel that education is a burden on them. This kind of situation will averse the new generation to explore the new knowledge and gather experiences which is a must to become successful in the future life.

Again, to develop a progressive nation or society, knowledge of every branch is required. Arts and business studies are equally necessary for a country as science and technology. If only useful subjects are allowed to study, then it will create an imbalance educational system and subsequentially the main purpose of the education will be failed.

In conclusion, students should be given some directions to choose their subjects but never forced them. Parents and teachers could play a vital role because if students can freely consult with them, then it will be far more easy to select the proper subject for study and achieve their goals in the later life.