As there is continuous revolution of modern technologies nowadays, it is unavoidable that biological techniques are making their own enormous steps forward with one of its remarkable aspect is genetically modified crops. Controversially, the risks of GM food that can occur in the future are of concern to some people. In this essay I will analyse both perspectives and give my own opinion.

Firstly, GM crops are beneficial for us on the economic aspect. As a supportive evidence, an advantageous trait of crops – high resistance, is considered. Studies showed that seeds with adjusted genomes have better immunity to harmful bugs or toxins, and are more resilient to extreme weather conditions. Hence, with lower mortality of crops, farmers are ensured with stable seasons and incomes. Moreover, genetic engineered plants are also worthwhile in terms of feed ingredients for husbandry industry by abundantly providing beneficial macro-elements, and vitamins, which helps livestock herds to have better performance. With higher productivity from the animals, rearers are more likely to maintain a capable finance.

On the other hand, trans-genetic food is considered possibly harmful due to its negative effects on human health. A research in favor of this opinion indicated that some chemicals from the crops after being digested by our gastrointestinal tracts may promote the release of growth hormones – factors inducing early puberty in children. Additionally, another study claimed people who eat GM food regularly seem to have higher chance of gene mutation and cancer. Scientists explained that our immune system cannot adapt with unnatural substances from gene-fixed crops, which ultimately lead to bizarre changes in our body.

In general, it is obvious that genetically modified crops have their own advantageous and dangerous sides. However, I believe if we use them with cautions and as well conduct more in-depth researches, GM food would do us better than harm