Generally, the government spends a huge amount on preserving the ancient articfrats and promoting traditional art forms of the country. Few argue that these expenditures are not useful for the people of the country, and this can be better invested in something that has more economic value. In my opinion, costs that incurred for the promotion of art is more important for any country to carry its cultural and traditional value to the young and future generations.

There are people those who suggest the government shall spend a large amount of money on schemes that contribute to the welfare of the people. For example, it can invest in industries and businesses those are capable of generating more employment opportunities. Furthermore, more focus shall be given to the development of infrastructural projects such as constructions of bridges, dams and better living atmosphere for the citizens. Some even suggest that educational institutions and hospitals with high-end equipment must be given top most priority while allocating funds, as they are key for better future of the country and its people.

On the other hand, preservation of arts has its own advantages. Firstly, cultural centres such as museums, temples, palaces etc., give chance to the new generation to know their country's ancient history and its cultural and heritage values. Secondly, performing or viewing artforms such as paintings, dances, sculptures, gives immense pleasure and peace of mind to the person who does it. In addition to this, it also creates a person's creative skills. Finally, a country that invests more money in preserving their cultural identities attracts a lot of tourists not only domestically, but also from foreign countries which help it to generate revenues through tourism.

Although it could be argued that cost incurred on the creative activities can be invested instead on infrastructural and social welfare schemes, the benefits that the mankind derives from them can never be denied. What will happen if we all are surrounded only by things of economic value, with no avenues for entertainment or relaxation? Certainly, people under such circumstance would feel unhappy and demotivated. For these reasons, I believe that the sum used for promotion of arts are necessary for the welfare of the people.