Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

International sports festivals have been held annually in different countries for a long time. According to this trend, people raise the question whether a country actually benefits from organizing such events or there will be vast drawbacks to be mitigated. Although both views are noteworthy, I strongly support the idea claiming that it is advantageous to host a global sports occasion.

There are some obvious reasons why people think that organizing an international sports event can be problematic. There is a common belief that when doing so, the environmental condition can be affected negatively and worsened. The reason for this is that a global sports event attracts a huge number of tourists which are associated with a large amount of waste and rubbish to be treated. The case can be serious when considering countries where garbage is mostly burned or buried. Moreover, people often argue that alongside environmental effects, the crime rate is rocketing during a sports festival. The example can be seen easily in the circumstance of World Cup Brazil 2014 when the frequency of thieves is extremely high that visitors are warned about on TV.

In contrast, I believe that although there are undeniable drawbacks, they can be solved by strict rules and regulation. I would argue that a country gains much more benefits when hosting such events. One of the most obvious long-term effects is that it can reduce the burden of physical diseases on healthcare systems since people are encouraged to do exercises on a regular basis. This is primarily because of the purposes of a sports festival which is not only a competition for athletics to evaluate their levels but also to acknowledge citizens about the importance of sports. In addition, hosting such event is necessary in the internationalization time. For instance, if Vietnam could organize a global sports festival, visitors across cultures could encounter a unique tradition and signature culinary food such as pho and bun cha. This could also be an opportunity for businessmen to elaborate the potential of the economy for further investment.

To put things in a nutshell, although many people claim that hosting a sports event on a global scale can be problematic in case of environmental and criminal situations, I believe that these serious circumstances can be mitigated by establishing adequate legislation. Furthermore, I wholeheartedly support that a country can be far more advantageous when organizing such events, especially in terms of a healthy population, cultural exchange and economic investment.