Much attention has been drawn to a notion which claims not every crime offenders should go to jail, but rather do community works. This essay also believes in unpaid community service as a suitable form of punishment. Not only will the criminals are forced to pay for their acts, but society is benefited as well.

In terms of punishing effects, making criminals serve the community is holding them accountable for their deeds. Unless the criminals did something serious like murder or burglary, there is no need to sentence them to jail time or capital punishment. Apart from that, instead of keeping them behind the bars for a certain period, law enforcers can order the criminals to work outside during the same amount of time, but under close supervision. This is because the time which the criminals must undergo is the same for both scenarios. Moreover, extra energy has to be used by them for productive purposes, unlike the case where they just sit and sleep in a cell all day.

Another angle to look at unpaid work is from the viewpoint of the community. There are certain types of job which do not seem appealing although its purpose serves humanity a lot. For example, hard-labor tasks like cleaning up garbage, repainting walls and even planting trees are not considered a profession but at the same time are needed by the public. The government, therefore, can punish criminals by channeling their human workforce into beneficial public renovations. Still, some might argue this option of punishment seems kind and soft. Even though the criminals are not put in prison, their criminal record documents will follow them for the rest of their life whether it is asking for a job or taking out a loan from a bank.

In conclusion, commanding criminal offenders to serve their society is neither soft nor harsh, but a peculiar mixture of the two. As long as the punishment fits the crime, forcing people to do unpaid manual work is equivalent to another form of being held captive.