Some people think schools should educate pupils according to their academic ability, and others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed considerable changes in education system. Nowadays, sorting and teaching students separately considering gap in their intellectual and leaning abilities is in debate. However, this argument looks good only on paper. This essay discusses both views and provides empirical evidences supporting above notion.

To begin with, selecting pupils according to learning abilities is not advisable for several reasons. To enumerate, it encourages psychological complexities among learners of the two groups. In other words, system of filtering students brings feeling of inferiority to those who are not in the group and superiority feeling to the selected ones. It is harmful for both in the long run. Moreover, students show inconsistency in academic performance, to illustrate, student scoring 60 to 70% may develop interest in the company of good ones and score 80 to 90% and vice versa. Thus, on separating children the chances of such transformation goes down, as teaching both groups together inspires the weaker to study like brilliant one.

On the paradoxical side, it is believed that separating students can boost up the maximum learning among the students and they can be improved too far than mixed class. Firstly, complex concepts taught differently relating to the learning ability can make pupils sharper and more capable. Secondly, in mixed classroom chances of intelligent students getting influenced by the spoiled one are more and this ruins their academic prospects. Consequently, shining students are more subjected to the risk of loss in studies in the company of disoriented students.

To summarize, this issue in the light of benefit of intelligent candidates, the argument may seem appropriate. However, its overall effect on the student community is likely to be more harmful because it may hurt self-esteem of learners and this cannot be permitted under any circumstances.