Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about which type of students school should give awards. While many people believe that only students who have good academic results deserve to be rewarded, I also argue that all students who show their effort in learning should have equal chances to be given awards.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why schools only need to reward students who excel at academic performance. Firstly, this could create a highly competitive studying environment, students would feel motivated to try hard to get a higher score. For example, many schools have final tests monthly to examine their students and give presents for students who have the best result. As a result, this would encourage their students to learn harder. Secondly, through selecting and rewarding top students, teachers could easily find good students and have special training for them. This would help these students to nurture and develop their skills and they could take many examinations such as national competitions.

On the other hand, I personally believe that it is more necessary for all students showing their improvement in learning progress to receive presents as an award for their hard-work. First, because of being rewarded, students could have more motivations to study harder. For example, teachers should pay a compliment for their students who improve their study result to show their recognition for these students’ enhancements. If only the best students receive awards, other students might feel disappointed which would negatively affect their interest in learning. Furthermore, fair rewarding would promote learning not only because of the result, but also for understanding. Therefore, students would not cheat to gain higher scores, which help them reduce stress and pressure in learning.

In conclusion, although it is reasonable for students who are excellent in academic performance, I think that schools should give a chance for all of their students to be rewarded to encourage students’ improvements.