The tendency of keeping wild species in zoos has aroused waves of controversies in recent times. While many reckon that zoos are ideal places for protecting wild animals, others and I hold the view that zoos should be closed down because of some detrimental effects.

It is undeniable that zoos play an integral part in saving wild animals. The most significant merit is that zoos support humans to research work and broaden their horizons about wild species. The vast majority of people including students and adults are able to witness these animals and understand more about animals’ daily life environment. Another factor is that observing wild animals close up inspires individuals to embrace the spirit of protecting species. A compelling example is that once a child has a higher chance to find out about a bear thanks to a zoo, he can be sympathetic and he will foster his love for saving bears. Accordingly, zoos appear to be immensely beneficial for both facilitating people’s learning progress and boost citizens’ awareness to conserve animals.

However, it is indisputable that zoos bring some pitfalls to a huge number of wild species. First and foremost, these animals have to live in numerous cramped cages which kill their animal's right to freedom. Wild species are in desperate need of natural habitat, social structure and companionship to live during their entire life. Therefore, captive animals may become depressed and institutionalized when they are being cooped up in unnatural environments like prisons. The second demerit is that wild species can harm everyone due to being a public spectacle for entertainment. With the aim of enriching rapidly, a lot of animals are trained to perform on shows to appeal to more visitors, whereas animals are not keen on performing because of their natural behaviors. This leads to the anger and many accidents caused to their trainers and audiences by species.

In conclusion, although keeping wild animals in zoos has some benefits for citizens, I strongly believe that animals deserve to live in the wild and zoos’ operations should be stopped.