When considering planet earth as a single unit, overwhelming numbers of environmental as well as ecological problems continue to emerge. Although certain issues had been there since the dawn of history like some of the lethal infectious epidemics, others however started to predominate just within the last few centuries taking pollution as an example. In such context, some people hold on the idea that peer and individual based efforts can actually combat these hazards. While others believe that solving such challenges needs quite more sophisticated and organized professional governmental efforts.

it naturally goes without saying that some of the difficulties we face in our environment arise from simple but absolutely false behaviors and attitudes. those who think so argue that changing life style and paying attention for little details might have very significant effects in our lives. for instance, smoking cessation , use of modern non petroleum-dependent automobiles and stopping the use of wood as a source of energy are simple measures that they claim will have tremendous effects on preservation of ozone layer. Moreover, many of them state that self-based initiatives and motivation constitute building bricks through which communities can achieve major steps forward in this field.

Those who oppose this view say that a lot of the problems encountered in nature are actually very complex to the degree that dealing with them needs recruitment of national and even international expertise and resources. To clarify this let us take the deleterious effects of petroleum transporting ships accidents on the diverse ocean creatures. These accidents are unfortunately inevitable due to the large swarming numbers of ships currently surfing through out the oceans. So in order to reduce such incidents, they suggest implementing world wide agreed laws and ensuring their applicability regardless of the nationality of the crew in these ships. This obviously needs very high levels of inter-governmental interactions and communication.

As a conclusion, while some think it is up to persons per se to avoid and correct global problems, others oppose and say it is the responsibility of governments. In my personal point of view I firmly believe that a holistic approach of both individually motivated and nationally funded programs is the only way out of this dilemma.