Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that people can easily enroll on distance-learning courses provided by universities around the world thanks to the rapid development of technology. The essay will outline some positives and negatives before drawing a clear conclusion of this trend.

On the one hand, courses offered on the Internet would result in some drawbacks to students. First, online education would require learners a high level of self-regulation. In fact, lessons and assignments or homework are delivered on the Internet and sent through emails, which means that students need to have a good time management skill to complete their homework and send back to their lecturers before deadline. Second, students are more likely to lack direct interaction when taking online courses because all activities are done online even group discussions or presentations. Students do not have chances to involve in face-to-face conversations with their teachers and peers which usually happen in a formal classroom in reality.

On the other hand, this trend is of greater benefit to students. To overseas students, they would have a golden opportunity to enter some prestigious universities in developed countries like the UK or the USA, regardless of geographical barriers. Besides, degrees from these universities would open the door for them to better employment opportunities. In terms of working adults, they can take distance-learning courses to broaden their knowledge and improve some soft skills such as computer literacy or word processor which benefit their career prospects. Due to the fact that they have to spend all day at their workplaces, such online education would allow them to work at their pace and whenever they want owing to the availability of lessons and teaching videos on the Internet.

In conclusion, it seems to me that this trend would exert more good effects on students’ learning process.