In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

It is astonishing that famine is still prevalent in many countries whose agriculture have been undergone constant development. Although the increasing unemployment rate and the cost of agricultural products are the main cause of this, there are number of effective strategies that can be applied to tackle such problem.

It is believed that the rise in unemployed people and product prices are the main reasons resulting in millions of starving bellies. As advances are brought to the agriculture, activities such as farming and harvesting of crops are now done by state-of-the-arts machines. This significantly reduces human labour and eventually ends up with many jobless people. Besides, Climate change is another reason which is worth mentioning as it brings about the devastating consequences to the growth of crops and their yields. Hence, This poses a surge in prices of the agricultural products and results in people finding it difficult to afford the price of such food.

Since the number of hungry people is rising continually, immediate actions need to be taken into account to halt it. First, combining the contributions between conventional labour practice and technology not only lower down the unemployment rate, but also the cost of agricultural machines and eventually the product prices. Thus, this make food affordable to almost everyone. Furthermore, to maximise the productivity of crops, improvements are needed to be made in the systems that forecast extreme event. This is to help farmers keep track with natural disasters such as storm, be well-prepared with the prevention methods to these problems.

In summary, every problem has its own solution so famine is no exception. By carrying out the right methods, agricultural activities can be done cost-effectively and problems of hunger will be reduced to the minimum level.