In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

To the best of my knowledge, famine is currently omnipresent in most underdeveloped countries, even though improvements in agriculture have been made recently. I strongly support the idea that this problem primarily results from the indecisive policies of governments and external factors of the environment. If the authorities took more serious actions and took more protective measures into account, the famine might not be as severe as it is.

That the governments' failure to address this problem and postpone proposing any further practices is making more and more people suffer from hunger. Citizens cannot solve the problem by themselves. It is believed that the authorities are the ones in charge of resolving and rescuing their residents whenever any trouble appears. Therefore, the more neglectful the governments are, the more worrying the starvation becomes. Take the Vietnam famine of 1945 as an example. Without harsh policies and over-exploitation of the enemies at that time, Vietnam in 1945 might not have experienced that nightmare. For this reason, coming up with any solution in order to address this problem seems to be the top priority at the moment. As for me, I highly recommend that governments put forward and offer practices related to food trade or job opportunities (to enhance the quality of life) as soon as possible so that food is affordable for most of their citizens.

Another reason for this scarcity of food is believed to be the elements of the environment, such as natural disasters like droughts, floods, etc. This appears to destroy the agricultural facilities completely, which is a determinant key to the amount of food produced and associated with the widespread shortage of food. To illustrate, African countries, which were and have been under extremely blistering temperatures, also undergo extremely major hunger that adversely influences and, in some cases, takes people’s lives. As far as I can tell, it is essential that governments enhance the quality of protective equipment so that the infrastructure can be protected against the destruction of nature. Besides, not only national and global humanitarian organizations but also the authorities should call for donations for these affected areas. This may not be a long-term solution, but I believe it would do those people some favors, at least aid in feeding them temporarily.

Briefly, the widespread deprivation of food has afflicted the majority of people living in underdeveloped nations, despite there being loads of breakthroughs in the agricultural sector. Its causes may be the lack of timely practices from the government and the negative effect of nature. What we could do to resolve the problem is the introduction of various sensible policies and modern defense facilities against the devastation of nature.