Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Because of technological progress, people have more opportunities to participate in online meetings, especially teenagers who are very keen on this type of communication. Despite the advantages of virtual meetings, they should not be replaced the traditional meetings due to their limitation in interaction. It is important that governments and parents take steps in encouraging teenagers to participate more in direct meetings.

There are many detrimental effects of online meetings. Firstly, communication is not just verbal, it also includes nonverbal like body language and the atmosphere, which online meetings can not offer. If people attend online meetings for a long time, they miss out on the emotions and reactions of others, which can lead to misunderstanding the information. Secondly, there are a lot of distractions during an online meeting, such as phones or noises. Therefore, the efficiency of the online meetings can not be optimized, which leads to the unproductive performance of attendees. Lastly, the technical problems of the innovative technologies slow down and affect online meetings significantly.

With all the arguments above, it is important to discourage teenagers from overusing virtual meetings. The governments can subsidize more public buildings in order to create more space for more teenagers to meet and socialise in person. Parents can also tackle this problem by spending more time talking with their children, organizing more holidays for them to go outside and enjoy socialising. Limiting the time using digital devices can be one possible solution.

In conclusion, online meetings should be reduced due to their limitation in expressing emotions and feelings. The governments and parents should take measures to discourage teenagers from participating in face-to-face meetings.