Nowadays, it is true that the development of technology such as the computer tends to be easier in use and more affordable, which results in the increasing number of people spending more time working and studying at home. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that it is more beneficial for individuals.

On the one hand, spending time working at home has some major disadvantages for both companies and staff. Firstly, it is more difficult for supervisors to manage the time and performance of work. What I mean by this is that managers would not know exactly what workers do in working hours. For example, lazy employees would tend to spend more time relaxing or doing other activities not relating to their job. Secondly, because there are many distracting factors such as family members, babies, workers would be likely to lack the intense concentration on major work. This can lead to a reality that staff have to finish their work mass at other times, even at night.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that workers would not waste more time for commuting. Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, is a good example. It often takes over an hour to travel regardless of the short distance from home to work because of traffic congestion. Additionally, when travelling on the street, workers would have to cope with pollution and accidents which will hardly happen if they have the chance to work from home. Another reason is that students could take part in some courses at the same time. This means that students can enter both economics, science and foreign language courses to improve their knowledge and enjoy more job opportunities.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of working and studying from home with the help of computer technology are much greater than its drawbacks, and this is a positive development.