Today, parents spend little free time with their children. Why is this the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

In today's society, children and their parents seem to be less close than in the past. There are a number of reasons for this phenomenon, which is having a significant impact on family life, particularly teenagers.

There are two primary reasons why parents spend less time with their children nowadays. One reason is that both parents often work full time because many jobs require extra hours and also to support a family. Jobs like managers and executives usually have heavy workloads which cannot be dealt with during office hours.

Therefore, busy parents will have less contact with their kids. Furthermore, many adults tend to use new high-tech gadgets when they have free time rather than playing with their youngsters.

Moreover, this tendency could have negative consequences more on children in terms of shaping a child's personality. Due to working parents, kids may be left alone, and they can do whatever they want. Children spend more time with friends or surfing the Internet, and they will eventually become the main influences on teenagers' behaviour. Some of them join gangs and turn out to be more violent, as a result, juvenile delinquency is currently on the increase.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why there is a lack of closeness in families and this can have an adverse effect on children. Parents should be more involved with their youngsters' upbringing because young individuals need positive role models to look after and learn from.