Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners.

How far do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is sometimes argued that assessments not only limit trainers but also make young pupils experience anxiety frequently as the tests’ role has been increasing dramatically. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that evaluation systems also have numerous advantages in both teachers and learners.

On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons why testing pupils has numerous negative impacts on their learning process. Firstly, teachers’ performance and ability to teach would be affected if we always focus on providing exams. For instance, the lecturers just need to fulfill the parents’ expectations by teaching test-based knowledge to achieve higher academic results. As a result, less useful knowledge or life skills would be taught. Secondly, placing too much concentration on examinations would have an adverse bearing on young students. This is due to the fact that they do not have enough time to develop other skills, except cramming for the exams. Moreover, assessments always put a strain on young students, which raises the risk of dropping out of school.

Despite these above drawbacks, I would contend that tests are still essential for teachers and children. On the lecturers’ level, this plays as a formative assessment, which illustrates the students’ weakness and strength. By estimating the young learners more frequently, the teachers would know which lesson’s aspects do their pupils understand or not. This plays a vital role for tutors to suggest young peers the most suitable job career. Furthermore, on the children’s level, assessments are beneficial to young learners as well. According to a recent survey, most of the interviewers said that they just learned when the exam was getting close. Hence, the evaluation motivates their inspiration, making them to concentrate on learning and pass other bad habits

In conclusion, while some maintain that there is no need to provide the assessment due to its limitation on teachers as well as exerting unnecessary stress on young learners, I believe that it is better to estimate their knowledge regularly by providing tests.