In recent years, many people believe that social media take the place of in person socialization between individuals. In spite of some advantages for the entrepreneurs, I think that the large use of social media leads to worse communication skills.

To begin with, the use of social media is beneficial for those who start their own business. It is undoubtable that in the past, the avenues were more limited for someone who wanted to start a new business. Social media, beginning with Facebook, and apps like Instagram, Snapchat and TikTok, open up possibilities for content creators to communicate with their audience around the world. This applies to life success stories, like Justin Bieber, who went viral and rose from relative obscurity, as well as more modest examples like the various instagram artists and models who interact and generate income and publicity from their loyal fan bases.

Despite these advantages, social media has degraded the general quality of communication. The most affected are the younger users. Young people today are more likely to communicate by texting and interacting through comments as they impatiently scroll through various feeds. In contrast, they should develop their interpersonal skills by telling jokes and arguing about personal and political topics. According to a recent survey, teenagers nowadays do not improve their communication skills, since they do not get quality feedback on their output and so develop haphazardly.

To sum up, social media has hurt communication, overshadowing the economic utility. In my opinion, parents ought to limit phone use for children, as they are more influenced than anyone.