The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Cutting-edge technology indeed has changed every aspect of our lives for the better and some people argue that social media may become an essential step forward to surpass face-to-face interaction. While there are several drawbacks of this trend, I assert that overall benefits eclipse disadvantages.

On the one hand, many advocates hold firmly a belief that there is no substitute for face-to-face interaction in convincing points. In terms of personal privacy, a direct meeting is considered as a secured procedure to avoid online scams, banking frauds, or stealing personal information. For example, an array of cases have recently been reported about alleged conspiracies by hacking the Facebook account and deceiving somebody in a friend list for urgently transferring a large amount of money. From the perspective of social skills, the advances in technology are criticized as influential elements depriving the communication and interaction quality of humans. By depending profoundly on convenient online applications, people tend to constrain their sense in gestures to express emotions, thoughts, and feelings.

On the other hand, two compelling reasons are attributed to the preference for online communication platforms rather than direct personal interaction. Firstly, with the widespread presence of the internet, families and friends can have a plethora of media to keep in touch globally. To be more precise, large family gatherings or school reunions may be impossible to organize due to work and study commitments in a very hectic world, and hence, social media play an integral role to assist people to share photos, update status, and send warm regards to relatives and classmates. Secondly, a financial factor also mainly accounts for the favorite trend of using social networks to connect with each other, such as during the pandemic outbreak, people or companies have saved significant budget to establish virtual conferences instead of expending unnecessary travel and accommodation costs for conventional meetings.

In conclusion, despite some detrimental effects in our lives, I still consider that the advantages of using social media outweigh defects compared to face-to-face interaction.