As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been common for companies to put profits as a priority, but whether they need to have social responsibilities is becoming increasingly controversial. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for the society while making money.

On the one hand, it is important for businesses to strive for maximizing their profits. Only by making exceeding money can they be able to continually run the working system. When the enterprises’ system is financially stable, they are more prone to actively contribute to society. Moreover, the more money a business makes, the more taxes it pays for the government. This process will induce better public service for the country as the government has more capitals to improve key fields. For example, countries in Europe, having large budgets from tax revenues, all provide fee-free schools and do not charge people when going to hospitals while the facilities are highly-advanced.

On the other hand, there are convincing reasons why companies should be responsible for society. One of the reasons is that business activities have a direct impact on the environment. The destruction of natural resources can bring about disastrous consequences, which create industrial wastes, factory emissions, and most of all, pollution. Therefore, not only do they care about the revenues but they also have to implement environmental policies and install waste treatment systems in every project. Another reason is that since the profits they gain are from people, they should reciprocate those in vulnerable groups. Businesses can use a portion of the profits to give charity donations or provide scholarships for poor students.

In conclusion, I believe both the pursuit of gaining profits and the responsibility in developing the society are two inextricable elements that all corporations should have no matter what field they are in.