What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

This essay will discuss how watching TV may positively or negatively affect young generation. Nowadays social platforms such a television, become part of our daily life. As its used for watching news, documentary, reality show or movies, each individual in any age can find suitable program for himself. I will discuss positive as well as negative impact of this to our pupils.

From the one hand, television might be useful source of education, such a language or behaviour skills. Morning programs are mostly developed for the youngest ones, when most of cartoons shows represents some kind of teaching pattern. TV shows like a Teletubies teach kids how to be kind, polite and honest to parents and other ones. For older kids, watching TV might boost their flexibility in foreign language, mostly in English. Much more TV shows and movies are now played in original language supplied with subtitles. This trend allows not only kids to hear native English or any other foreign language and improve their listening skills and vocabulary.

From the other hand, TV contains many programs which should be available to watch by kids. Many movies and TV series contains strong coarse language, sex, nudity or violence and there is no way how to ban access to this programs as TV plays them all day long. As action movies, where one so called "hero" kills all enemies by his hands or guns become very popular, this scenes might trigger violent or fighting behaviour.

To sum up, I believe, that purpose of TV is half educational and half for pleasure. However, some programs might not be available on TV streaming as they are not suitable for young generation.