What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

Nowadays, spending more time on television is becoming so popular for many children. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why watching television is so good, and some considerable challenges to be concerned.

Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of television for children. One of the great positives is that watching different TV programmes helps children improve their knowledge. What I mean by this is that there are such many skills as communicating with each other in different cultures and discovering the living of many animals, which they could not be taught at school. Secondly, safety is also one of the standards which parents always hope when they encourage their children on television rather than other activities. In outside society, dangers are alarmingly increasing in term of transportation, criminals and so on. This makes parents decide to their children spend more their children’s time staying at home.

Turning the other side of the argument, lack of time for other activities is the main problem. As a result, this causes bad effects on children’s health. In addition, children using more time for television will not have enough time for such outdoor activities as playing football, cycling… Another issue is that many game programmes on television are attracting too many children, even those being at primary school. This result in playing games very much and not concerning their exercises or homework. Take a child neighbouring my house is a good example. He used to spend more 6 hours per day watching television over a long period, which is a contributing factor to his bad grades.

All things considered, watching television for children always make parents be a deep concern. They need to weigh up the pros of improving their children’s insight, safety and so on, and the cons of their health and grades. Personally, I believe that great results could be achieved unless there is a reasoned balance of time between watching TV and other activities for children.