To what extent do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past”.

Human has traveled a long way breaking almost all the borders of the past to make us proudly declare that “after all, the world is flat”. Skeptics, however, raise a question that whether tied with the tremendous changes was our improvisation in happiness. From my point of view, such kinds of changes bring to humans delight and satisfaction than to motivate a nostalgia of the happiness in the old days.

On the one hand, humans have a misconception of comparing the happiness among the ages due to a main reason: the nostalgia. It is inevitable that at some certain periods of the lifetime, we all long to a trip down memory lane. On the mental aspect, the past plays a crucial role in one’s soul or in other word, it is our secret garden to hide away whenever the adult’s burdens over us reaches its peak. According to a research, a high percentage of the interviewed admitted that not the tremendous changes of the world reduces their feelings of happiness but the desperate need of a mental shelter whenever their life be in the heat of pressures did it. Furthermore, the modern world facilitates us to achieve our goals more and more easier by providing a large numbers of technological innovation. This ideal conditions did contribute to our feelings of overabundance; that we have to no longer pay our endeavor to gain our expectations. As a result, we all become the little runaway trying to escape this reality by deluding ourselves that the world could be better in the past.

On another aspect, the dark chest of wonders is the world we now live in. Indeed, human race has experienced a time that could be considered the golden days thanks to the development of technology. The standard of living has reached the level that our ancestors could never imagine. For example, long-distance travel, an experience that once belonged to a small group of merchants and sailors only, now turned to a daily activity. The experimentation of Hyperloop, a high-speed train moving in a vacuum tunnel, allows humans to travel from San Francisco to Los Angeles within 35 minutes. As launched in the reality, this transportation system facilitates humans to travel around the world by the time that equals to a tenth of the time costed in 19th century. Furthermore, the need of communicating the information is no longer a barrier. As the magical mirror which allows face-to-face conversation that no need to concern about distance, a series of applications like Messengers, Skype, or Google hangout have erased the geographic gaps between us. Despite the astonishing changes we are involve in, human race are bestowed a circumstance in which we could feel full of delight and satisfaction.

In conclusion, even if the wind of change might not carry only the good, it is unacceptable to declare that we could have a happier life in the past. I do trust in the fascinating prospects brought by the tremendous changes to open a new life fulling with delight and prosperity.