When choosing a job the salary is the most important consideration To what extent do you agree or disagree

According to some people, salary is the first thing to consider when choosing a job. I do not quite agree with this view. While I do admit that salary is certainly important, in my opinion, it is equally important for people to find a job they love.

Finding a job that one enjoys is certainly important in life because the vast majority of people spend more than half of their lives in the workplace. If they do not enjoy what they do, they will have to drag themselves to office every morning. Over time, this dissatisfaction with the job will take a toll on their health and emotional well-being. By contrast, people who enjoy their job are usually happy even if they do not earn much. For example, teachers and nurses are underpaid; yet a lot of people want to pursue nursing or teaching because they get an immense sense of fulfilment from healing the sick or shaping the young minds of tomorrow.

On the other hand, salary is certainly important. Job satisfaction alone will not enable us to put food on the table. Hence, it is certainly important for people to consider the salary while choosing a job. They need to ensure that they are adequately paid so that they can take care of their family. Even so, a fat salary alone will not make people happy. Actually, some of the highest paid jobs have ridiculously long working hours and unrealistic targets. It is important for people to decide whether a lucrative salary is more important than having some time for themselves and their family.

In conclusion, salary is certainly something people need to consider while choosing a job; however, it should not be the first or only consideration. People spend a great deal of their time at the workplace and hence finding a job that they enjoy and that comes with realistic expectations is even more important.