When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and way of life die out it is pointless to keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Some people contend that it is pointless to keep traditional skills when a country develops its technology. However, others oppose such contention.

To begin with, we cannot deny that when a country develops its technology, traditional skills die out. However, such traditional skills should be kept because they are a source of education. They provide an insight to the next generations on how something developed over time. For instance, hunting is no longer done through bows and arrows but through a gun. Therefore keeping this traditional hunting equipment would provide knowledge to next generations how their ancestors used to hunt before gun invention. Moreover, it will enlighten people on how a gun came up.

Furthermore, cultural awareness is promoted. Most people who are not aware of norms, values and heritages of some cultures would be enlightened of such. For example preserving the traditional attire of the Zulu people as a result of the new fashion designs. Different people from other races and countries becomes knowledgeable of the original Zulu clothing. Following that, they learn to appreciate the Zulus and their history. This elucidates why it is not pointless to keep traditional ways of life.

In contrary, it is not worth keeping traditional ways of life because it will account for much money. To preserve traditional ways, museums and other exhibits places should be in place. Such places require professionals as well as structures to set them up. As a result, money which could have been used to fur then technology is wasted on such facilities. It is therefore not worth keeping such ways. Moreover, museums do not generate income. They are just places of exhibition yet they have to be maintained with money.

In conclusion, whether traditional ways of life should be kept when a country develops its technology has triggered a spirited debate. However, I assert for traditional ways to be kept despite their costs.