When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, human beings are pushing back the frontiers of knowledge and technology by leaps and bounds, thereby revolutionizing humans’ lifestyles. Thus, some argue that the old strategies had better get omitted and give way to new methods. I am personally inclined with this view, but new procedures must always improve the quality of our lives.

Today, many new technologies and advancements have added colors to humans’ lives. It is a natural instinct of people to strive for promotion. In fact, the efficiency of humans’ lives has boosted considerably. For instance, the advent of airplanes has paved the way for humans to travel country to country in a couple of days which was totally impossible in the past. However, previously, people used to ride horses or camels to take a long journey and that was much more time-consuming. Another example which casts light on this evolution is that in the past, people used to knit clothes out of wool with a needle and nobody had access to swing machines. Nevertheless, these days, new technologies and facilities have expedited this process to a great extent, making more profit in textile industry. Therefore, that is thoroughly acceptable to leave off the old methods.

Although new methods are so valuable, we need to be alert about the quality of our lives and the results of new methods should get compared with those of their obsolete counterparts perpetually. To elaborate on it, sometimes humans just think about running a profitable business with the help of new technologies and apparatus, no matter what the outcome is. To exemplify, agriculture industry is a field which has lost its quality under the influence of advancements. In fact, new methods of irrigation, the usages of pesticides and also genetic engineering are some new strategies which have had detrimental impacts on the crops. Although the businessmen can make more profits, the public health would be threatened definitely. So, I believe that people should inspect their standard of living meticulously, even though new methods are so profitable.

In conclusion, it seems to me that in the modern era, we can put aside obsolete procedures in our lives only if we evaluate the quality of our life by comparing the results of new methods with those of the old ones.