Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is pointless to spend money on the protection of wild animas because we human have no need for them. I completely disagree with this point of view.

In my opinion, it is absurd to argue that wild animals have no place in the 21st century. I do not believe that planet Earth exists only for the benefit of humans, and there is nothing special about this century that we suddenly have the right to allow or encourage the extinction of any species. Furthermore, there is no compelling reason why we should let animals die out. We do not need to exploit or destroy every last square metre of land in order to feed or accomodate the world's population. There is a plenty of room for us to exist side by side with wild animals, and this should be our aim.

I believe that more resources should be allocated to protect wild animals. It is usually the protection of natural habitats that ensure the survival of wild animals, and most scientists agrees that these habitats are also crucial for human survival. For example, rainforests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilise the Earth's climate. If we destroy these area, the cost of managing the resulting changes to our planet would far overweight the costs of conservation. By protecting wild animals and their habitats, we maintain the nature balance of all life on Earth.

In conclision, we have no right to decide whether or not wild animals should exist, and I believe that we should do everything we can to protect them.