Young people are often the first to suffer when job opportunities are scarce. In which ways does age affect employment opportunities?

How might employees deal with the issues fairly?

“Two hundred people lost their job”, “Unemployment rates are rising”, we hear or read that kind of news every day so it might be becoming usual thing for us to be fired. Yet, many people argue that young people are most likely to lose their job in case of redundancy, and it is unfair.

If we look at that issue from employer’s side there are a few reason why young workers are getting fired. Firstly, many companies regularly train their staff , as a result someone who have been working in one company for some years will get many training classes, so will be more experienced and professional. To that end any company when it has to let someone go choose new , young workers, because company tries to keep a professional for whom they put a lot of effort. Secondly, when a company has to fire its workers, surely it will be experiencing some difficulties , so the company wants to keep its loyal workers and consequently productivity, having that in mind company’s authorities keep older, experienced workforce who have been working there for a long period. Thirdly companies might be afraid of loosing their secrets to their competitors. Mostly, an employee who has been working there for a long years , undoubtedly, knows a lot of things about company than young employee who has came recently .

In order to deal with abovementioned problems in a fair way companies could take some measures. Initially companies must be sure that their workers have insurance in case they suddenly become unemployed. In that case employees would not suffer a lot from their job lost. Additionally, if it is inevitable to fire some of their worker companies should show respect to their new, young workers and give even a little chance to them keep their position . In that case I personally recommend to make random choices about who will get fired . For instance , 65% of those who have been working there less than 5 years and 35% of those who have been working more than that might be dismissed. In that way company would show its works both, that it values its loyal workers and also gives chance for the young.

In summary, today competition for working position in any field is really high and getting fired sometimes could be unavoidable. However, Human Resources and Formal Authorities in any company must do their best to provide atmosphere that is based on fair competition inside the staff.