In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Old age is an inevitable phase of human life. In the recent study, need for more nursing homes is ever demanding. Generally when a person reaches the age of 70-80 plus, then they prefer to move out of their homes and start living in an old-age home. However, I argue that the government should pay for the care of such people. The first reason is that some people are too old themselves to pay for such care of other family members and the second reason is that few families cannot afford to take up this responsibility.

The government must pay for the cost of nursing homes because some family members are old enough to bear this amount. A couple of others countries have a large number of the ageing population despite healtier lifestyles and advanced medical facilities. One such example is of Japan, it is predicted that their 1/3rd population in 20 years will turn over 70 years. Which means 70 years old people will have to pay for such services in future for their elderly parents. Therefore, I believe that such expenses should be borne by the government.

The second major reason is the financial background of the families. It varies from each family to family. Some families cannot endure these expenses. While in some cultures it is natural to take of elderly members. Sometimes this stress from taking care of them leads to financial, physical, and psychological abuses on their old age parents.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the idea that the government have to bear the cost of the care of the aged because either other family members are themselves old to pay or might not afford the cost. Therefore, the government should roll out pension system for the care of elderly citizens.