Cultures in different countries are more similar today than they used to be What are the reasons for this Is this a positive or negative development

Cultural similarities which did not exist in the past are now evident across the globe. This is because of tourism and the internet revolution. In my opinion, this is a positive development as it saves people from discrimination and increases employment opportunities in many countries.

The world has become more connected due to increase in travel. This is because nowadays, many people travel a lot to different countries and get to know the different cultures around the world, whereas in the past travel was limited. Some even migrate to other countries due to their liking for foreign cultures. Furthermore, understanding different cultures has never been easier than today with the use of the internet. People try to learn different cultures through websites and tend to generate an interest in them. This, in turn, promotes cultural homogeneity.

I believe this is a positive development because cultural fusion enables people to work in foreign countries without experiencing much difficulty. When people all over the world eat the same kind of foods, wear the same kind of clothes and celebrate the same festivals, life becomes a whole lot easier. Also, this development creates more job opportunities in developing countries. When there is a general acceptance of the foreign cultures, foreign businesses can set up offices everywhere.

To recapitulate, cultural similarities are a result of the booming travel industry and greater access to the internet. This should be seen as a positive development because it makes the world more tolerant and promotes job opportunities, especially, in developing and under developed countries.