Currently, there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Alternative medicine or questionable medicine or pseudo-medicine are medical practices which are unproven or are impossible to prove in relation to their effect. Some of the practices of such medicine are so dangerous that they cause much more harm than healing effects.

Let us throw light on the first fact that such methods do not bring any effect, if not adverse, at all. The raw material used in these drugs causes a soothing effect. To explain further, the homeopathic medicine contains a large alcoholic content. About 40% of the syrup contains ethanol which produces an anesthetic effect on internal organs. This gives a false sense of healing called the placebo effect in medical terms, which deceives the patient into thinking that he is under some magical treatment.

Now, let us elaborate the second fact that unconventional medicine may prove fatal. Therapies such as acupuncture, lobotomy, insulin coma therapy were performed at the cost of intellectual well being or other bodily impairments. Moreover, these therapies involved a longtime procedure and recovery period. In addition to these, even caused the death of the patient.

In a nutshell, it would be appropriate to conclude that pseudomedicine might give comfort for a short duration but does nothing more than giving a false impression of improved health. In general, such procedures are unproven or disproven and are used by the practitioners for their own research only.