Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.To what extent do yo u agree with this statement?

There is an opinion that investing money in the entertainment industry such as music and theatre is unnecessary, instead, the higher officials should look after the public services. I agree with the latter view that the government must lay out money on public services such as transportation, and health sectors so that the population may be benefited.

It is the fundamental duty of the government to look after their public basic needs such as proper transportation facilities as almost more than half of the population depends on them on a daily basis. To elaborate, many people are working these days and are dependent on public transport like trains or buses to commute safely. Recent demographics in Telangana, India has shown that buses have gained large-sum of money in the past 6 months as 75% of the population travel on them for various purposes for which the government has increased the number of bus facilities.

Admittedly, investing in the healthcare sector is equally important because, people nowadays are suffering from various health-related diseases such as diabetes, obesity, and many more for which we could admit a large number of deaths every year. To have proper treatment there should be the availability of government hospitals where people could be cured at minimal prices as they do not have enough money to invest in costly medicines. I believe that if the government does not spend funds on hospitals, the health of our society may decline. For instance, if a hospital has advanced types of equipment, it can detect the diseases at early stages which results in a lower mortality rate. Therefore, having invested in such sectors could be beneficial not only to the government but also to the public.

To conclude, I profoundly believe that the government should invest huge funds in public needs such as hospitals, schools, and transportation systems rather than the entertainment sector where there is less benefit obtained after investment.