World population has been exponentially increasing for a few decades; as a result, it drives the need of crops around the world. Some countries try to solve this problem using genetic engineering technology on food which produces much higher quantity of crops than traditional way. For example, more than 80% of corn and soybean supply around the world are now genetically modified. However, there are some movements that try to impede the use of GM food due to health and economical concerns. In my opinion, I partially agree with the idea of GM food and this essay will explain my thought.

Genetic engineering already plays a vital role in increasing global food supply. It strengthens crops immunization and resistant to several diseases and pests; because of that, crops are grown up without the need of antibiotics or pesticides thus reducing the chance of residue after a harvest. More than that, genetic engineering also increases the quality of food by enlarging the crop which result in more product per area. It also allows growing crops in an area that was previously infeasible for that particular corp.

On the other hand, GM food might create a monopoly or oligopoly economic. Generic engineering needs a large amount of initial investment; because of that, it needs to be patented so that the company can gain profit from its research. As a result, a farmer who relies on genetically modified seeds will also rely on a single corporation for a few decades until the parent becomes public domain. However, this pattern is not new because we already have an example in medical equipments and medicines.

In summary, GM food is vital for the future because of the increase in consumption from both human and livestocks. However, there is a risk of a few corporations to become world class food-lords that take control over global food market. Such situation must be prevented with proper regulation in both local and global level.