It is argued that the continuous growth of population around the world is creating feeding problems. GM foods seems a quick solution to this problem. In my point of view, I completely disagree with this statement, because it is known that this issue is related to economic and distribution problems

First of all, the volume of food production in the world is enough to feed the entire population. At present, aliments are produced on a big scale with modern technology, Countries like India and Argentina are large food productors; despite this, they have hunger problems in their populations. Thus, there is not a relation between a big population with feeding problems and a lack of food production.

Secondly, GM foods are not a real solution to this issue. The companies that produce this kind of modified aliments are in connection with the big food monopolies. For instance, in many countries, Monsanto has total control over grain production, like wheat and tomatoes. They have the management of the seed sales and they are promoting a campaign against small producers, who sell their lands to big productors. Accordingly, the big companies have utter control over the food production and they also regulate prices that directly affect many people, especially the poor in their access to ailments.

To conclude, GM food is not viable because they respond to economic interests and are responsible to arrange the economic value that impacts the food access to people. The problem is not the production volume to feed a growing population, is who is controlling this.