The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing Do you agree or disagree

Globalization and technology is making existence of traditional shops in urban and rural areas obsolete. It's irrefutable, growth in e-commerce opening doors for new marketing strategies in a way driving away actual shops from business. However, I would not go far enough to say that this will lead to closing down grocery outlets at all places. With all due respect, I beg to differ with the statement, and would like to cast light on the issue while asserting my opinion with relevant examples.

Exponential increase in online purchasing, like never before, is truly frightening as all our products are just one click away. Whereas, its' factually incorrect if one say that we get same fun by buying goods on internet just like taking from a shop next to our house. According to Indian Chamber of Commerce, guiding body for trading, people in small towns and villages are still reluctant to use mobile applications for buying or hiring service. Main reason behind this is, personal relations developed between merchant and consumer, is out of context in virtual world. Moreover, when it comes to quality check and deficiency services, complaining is easy for costumer as he can meet in person the shop owner. Similarly, when looking for range of goods and products, it's very convenient for potential client to get first hand knowledge before purchasing. For instance, electrical equipment's are needed to see for warranty and model in detail as a small picture in a website might miss some important information that we should be aware of.

There is a pre-conceived notion that procuring an item from a software application, which works on algorithms, is sign of sophisticated life style. Although, research carried by International consumer forum, revealed altogether different picture. Youngsters, who make use of technology at optimum level, show interest in online shopping for only reason of being lazy. Infact, according to same survey, nearly 60% adults and 32% of teenagers when they give feedback about their experience they had little fun in doing screen shopping. On the other hand, no return policy maintained by digital merchandise is often confusing to regular buyers. For instance, Amazon online retailer, will mandate it's users to return goods within 10 days from purchasing date if they are not satisfied. Apart , their clandestine terms and regulation will not cover damages caused while transit. Likewise prices of equipment's , especially electric goods ,are relatively higher as they are inclusive of shipping them.

In a nutshell, even though there is huge disparity when we compare online to conventional shopping, customer satisfaction is ultimate important for any industry. That being said, atleast not in immediate future, cash and carry franchises will not run out of business as long as they carry their warm and welcoming service for which a consumer always look forward. Nevertheless, age of transformation also require fast and reliable modes which is filled by wired operations. Therefore both transactions have their special places to serve needs of their respective clients.