Health is the responsibility of the individual as well as the government

Health is an asset that must be taken care of. Just the way a business cannot produce revenues without having assets that can generate return on investment, a person cannot benefit himself and his society without having a good health. But whose responsibility is it to ensure that an individual remains in good health? Some people say that the responsibility lies with individuals themselves while others claim that it is the responsibility of their governments to ensure that people enjoy a healthy life. In this essay we will discuss how both of these views are not necessarily incorrect and how individuals and their governments are both equally responsible for maintaining a healthy population.

Good health starts with self-care. Yes, it is that simple, as far as simple weather related or personal hygiene related diseases are concerned. A person is responsible for taking a balanced diet and avoiding foods that can put him on the potential risk of getting sick. For Example, many illnesses that take their toll on individuals during winters can be avoided by taking adequate vitamin C, wrapping up warmly and avoiding cold beverages. Also, we know that many diseases surface when the immune system of a person weakens. Many causes of a weakened immune system can be controlled by simply indulging in a routine of self-care e.g. taking adequate sleep, avoiding unnecessary stress and not binging on fast food.

But that doesn’t free governments of their responsibility. What happens when a person, even after doing all he can, gets sick? What about the time when genetics take their toll? Surely, then the role of government comes into play. A government is responsible for making sure that people get health care at minimal cost and that everyone has access to health care service. As far as the availability of medical care in far flung areas is concerned, it is totally government’s job to ensure that all rural areas have necessary health care units.

People and their governments are not independent of each other. No matter what the job is, both have to work side by side. In this essay we discussed how a person has to take care of his own health and how the government is responsible for providing an overall health care system to ensure that everyone lives a healthy life.