Higher education could be funded in three ways. All costs paid by the government, all costs paid by students or students paying all cost through a government loan. What are the advantages of these choices?

Learners have different options to pay their fees for tertiary education. It can be either funded by the government or fully paid by the student themselves or alternatively supported by loans provided by governmental authorities. This essay agrees that students should be given an initial support, however, they should ensure to pay off as installments gradually. This essay will discuss the benefit of all the three options.

There is little doubt that government support for university education would be of great help to the pupil and their families. Such support would make sure more and more teenagers have an opportunity to go for higher education thereby making the world a better-educated place to live. The southern state of India is a prime example, where all undergraduates are encouraged to go to university with the support of local panchayat office.

An alternate option would be to paying off all their education expenses by themselves. Despite the financial burden on both children and parents, the advantage is that students would be more responsible and accountable for their performance. As they understand the difficulty, they will definitely ensure to put in their best to excel in their studies. For instance, a student who depends on parents or siblings for their fees will attend classes regularly as he would have to return the expenses back to the family sooner or later.

In the third and most effective option is to offer loan to support the studies. Graduates are most likely to get a higher salary, this means they should be able to pay off the loan amount as installment back to the government. This, in turn, lets the government support the new undergraduates to make their way into universities. For example, in the southern state of India, top performers attaining above 90% are allocated with the state-funded loan for their educational purpose.

In summary, higher education is an integral part of the betterment of society. Any support to encourage the students to study further would be beneficial for a successful society. To support the students by loans, thereby giving them a chance to get better placements and thereby returning the loan amount is the best solution for both individuals as well as a country to prosper.