It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects should not worry about producing building as a work of art.

Architecting a building design and its construction process is a challenging task. There are several factors need to be taken into consideration for a good establishment. It is asserted by some people that most prominent determinant for a building is to serve a purpose, rather than to look beautiful so architects should focus more on functional aspects instead of their outside appearance. I completely agree with this notion and intend to discuss my views in subsequent paragraphs.

On the one hand, one school of thought believes that great outlook of a building bring name and fame to an organization. In fact, in this competitive world where everyone strives to work hard for recognition, such implementations not only bring unique identification but also promote a brand worldwide. For instance, Burj Khalifa is world`s tallest building renowned for its design which brought international fame for Dubai as well as boosted their tourism industry. However, this does not true in most of the cases. In contrast, if a building fails to fulfill its basic agenda then it may have devastating impacts. For instance, a recent report after earth quake in Japan states that most of the constructions collapsed during earth quake were those which had not been designed considering their robustness and durability.

On the other hand, I endorse the concept of architecture of the building should be based on the functional approach, not looks. The prominent reason is that if the building structure is not as per the comfort requirements of people then it would not be productive. To illustrate an example, a popular building of Infosys, a well-known multinational company, in Singapore was brilliant in design, a curvy and unique design, but still not fully operational because of the space and ventilation issue which was a huge wastage of money. In addition to it, establishing adequate safety measures, another crucial element required to fulfill main purpose, are much more important than outlooks as nothing can be compared with a human`s life. Thus, such buildings which satisfy essential criteria are more effective and efficient than stunning outlooks.

In conclusion, although beautiful design may help an organization to be popular and famous, yet a creation which suffices basic criteria such as durability, ruggedness and safety, is much more important in terms of safety, productivity and tackle natural disasters. Hence, designer and builders focus more on achieving purpose of the building instead of creating a useless antique piece of art.