Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A plethora of criminals who spent sometimes in a jail as a kind of punishment for the first time, might commit more crimes afterward. This due to several factors such as mix all prisoners together and sharing some risky stories. This essay aims to explore in further detail the reasons of such an issue and offers some solutions to overcome it before coming to a conclusion.

To begin with, it’s irrefutable that blending prisoners all together might exacerbate their attitudes and lead them to become more aggressive in the future. For instance, offenders who had small crimes such as thefts, or dangerous driving can easily being influenced by other dangerous prisoners who have been accused of murdering or drug trading. Since it gives them the opportunities to hear and learn new bad experience that has made by other prisoners. Brazil has a live example of very bad prison environment. Since every single jail has some dangerous gangs who have been accused of drug trading and smuggling or even murdering. They create no valuable environment for offenders who have been charged for smaller crimes to obtain. On the contrary, they only will acquire new negative practice to threaten their society after they get out.

In contrast, there are some solutions might help in alleviate such a problem. First of all, split prisoners into several sections based on their crime, to avoid sharing some negative experience with other dangerous prisoners. Second of all, enhancing the prisoners thoughts and skills by providing some theoretical and vocational sessions and prepared them to become a productive member of the global society. Denmark is playing as role model in dealing with prisoners, as the government educates offenderes as well as it provides them some practical sessions such as handicrafts and others in order to prepare them to be an active member of the society. Finally, there is no doubt that the type of punishment is playing a fundamental role in mitigating crime level after prisoners released. Therefore, many advance nations nowadays impose various valuable penalties on guilty individuals such as working as volunteer in elderly house or helping disable people. such this action has remarkable results on convicts' mentalities as it makes them to be more helpful and proactive in their communities.

To sum up, integrating all prisoners together is the main cause of many criminals to do more crimes. However, following the offered solutions might help offenders to become more productive for their societies.