Nowadays, in most countries, there are numerous television channels to choose from and those include non-stop broadcasting of sport.

Therefore it would appear that many people must be interested in watching sport through out the day and night. However, it does not necessarily follow that watching sport makes people less keen on participating in it. Teachers and parents may be concerned when they see teenagers spending time watching sport on television and fear that they are not active enough. While there are some justification for this, it is also true that young people are often under pressure, for example to do well in exams. They need to relax and give their minds and bodies a break.

In my experience, the young do not tend to watch sport rather than to participating it. The teenagers in my neighborhood regularly play football after school and at weekends. They play in matches or go to the tennis courts or the swimming pools. As well as this they all support various famous clubs and admire sports stars. These starts are their role models and watching them on television encourages participation in sporting activities in spite of the fact that the young try to emulate the people they admire.

By contrast, I have observed that some older people spend their evening and weekend in front of the television following sports such as international golf or motor racing. Moreover, many of these are middle aged men who spend their days sitting at a desk in an office and who get very little exercise in spite of the fact that they need it more than most.

In conclusion, although I accept that there are some people who may be discouraged from participating in sport because they can watch it on television instead in my view. This does not generally apply to the young.