More and more people prefer to read ebooks rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern era, majority of people favour reading digital books instead of physical books.

This essay will discuss various attributes for this trend and also discuss its effect on libraries.

There are some compelling reasons for a consumer to prefer e-books over paper-based books. One of the primary factor is the cost. Ebooks are way cheaper than paper books, so consumers can save a lot of money. For instance, an e-book usually costs around 20% to 30% less than a paper book. Another major reason for e-book preference is that it saves space required to shelve physical books, as digital books are stored in computers, laptops or other devices such as kindle etc., it doesn’t requires an external space. Furthermore, while travelling, people don’t need to carry bunch of different paper books, instead they just need to carry one device, which can store numerous e-books. In addition, ebooks are environment friendly as there are no paper used and no trees cut.

The trend of modern consumer’s preference for digital books over paper books is causing problems for libraries. To fulfil the demand of modern and technology savvy customers, libraries need to transform their entire infrastructure by investing in computers, gadgets, softwares, computer network, etc., which indeed is very costly. Moreover, customer oriented e-book subscription services are coming up, which are cost effective and user-friendly. For instance, Amazon Kindle subscription service is already a huge hit in the market, with pocket friendly subscription plans and user-friendly ways to access digital books. In addition, some physical libraries may face closure due to increase competition from digital libraries, which have much less operating cost as compared to physical libraries.

In conclusion, cost effectiveness and portability are the key reasons people prefer using ebooks over paper books. Due to increase competition from digital libraries and online subscription e-book services, physical libraries may face closure in near future.